Logo

 

Tasmanian Family History Society Inc.

Hobart Branch   

Navigation Bar

General and Other Meetings in 2014

All welcome!

Tuesday 14 January - 12:30pm
Branch Library Opens

Thursday 23 January - 2:00pm
LIBRARY COMMITTEE MEETING

Venue: Branch Library, Bellerive

Wednesday 12 February - 7:30pm
FAMILY HISTORY COMPUTER GROUP

Venue: Branch Library, Bellerive

Saturday 15 February - 10:30am
TFHS, Inc., EXECUTIVE MEETING
at ROSS

Tuesday 18 February - 7:30pm
GENERAL MEETING
Guest Speaker: Lynne Davies
Topic:
The UTAS archives.
Venue: The Sunday School, St Johns Park, New Town


Thursday 20 February - 10:00am
BRANCH COMMITTEE MEETING
Venue: Branch Library, Bellerive

Thursday 27 February - 2:00pm
LIBRARY COMMITTEE MEETING
Venue: Branch Library, Bellerive

Wednesday 12 March - 7:30pm
FAMILY HISTORY COMPUTER GROUP
Venue: Branch Library, Bellerive

Tuesday 18 March - 7:30pm
GENERAL MEETING
Guest Speaker: Colette McAlpine
Topic:
A guided tour of the
Female Convicts Research Centre's
database and website

Venue: The Sunday School, St Johns Park, New Town

Thursday 20 March - 10:00am
BRANCH COMMITTEE MEETING
Venue: Branch Library, Bellerive

Thursday 27 March - 2:00pm
LIBRARY COMMITTEE MEETING
Venue: Branch Library, Bellerive

Wednesday 9 April - 7:30pm
FAMILY HISTORY COMPUTER GROUP
Venue: Branch Library, Bellerive

Tuesday 15 April - 7:30pm
ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING
Election of Officers and Committee.
Nominations open 1st March, close 31st March.
Nomination forms may be obtained from the Secretary.
Guest Speaker: Brendan Lennard
Topic:
History begins at home
Venue: The Sunday School, St Johns Park, New Town

Thursday 17 April - 10:00am
BRANCH COMMITTEE MEETING
Venue: Branch Library, Bellerive

Thursday 24 April - 2:00pm
LIBRARY COMMITTEE MEETING
Venue: Branch Library, Bellerive

Wednesday 14 May - 7:30pm
FAMILY HISTORY COMPUTER GROUP
Venue: Branch Library, Bellerive

Thursday 15 May - 10:00am
BRANCH COMMITTEE MEETING
Venue: Branch Library, Bellerive

Saturday 17 May - 10:30am
TFHS, Inc., EXECUTIVE MEETING
at ROSS

Tuesday 20 May - 7:30pm
GENERAL MEETING
Guest Speaker: Eleanor Robin
Topic: John Watson - Shipbuilder of Hobart and Port Arthur
Venue: The Sunday School, St Johns Park, New Town

Thursday 22 May - 2:00pm
LIBRARY COMMITTEE MEETING
Venue: Branch Library, Bellerive

Wednesday 11 June - 7:30pm
FAMILY HISTORY COMPUTER GROUP
Venue: Branch Library, Bellerive

Tuesday 17 June - 7:30pm
GENERAL MEETING
Guest Speaker: Alexander Barr
Topic: Navigating the LINC Tasmania Web Site
Venue: The Sunday School, St Johns Park, New Town

Thursday 19 June - 10:00am
BRANCH COMMITTEE MEETING
Venue: Branch Library, Bellerive

Saturday 21 June
* TFHS, Inc., ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING *
ALL MEMBERS WELCOME!
See Journal for details.
Venue: Town Hall, Ross

Thursday 26 June - 2:00pm
LIBRARY COMMITTEE MEETING
Venue: Branch Library, Bellerive

Wednesday 9 July - 7:30pm
FAMILY HISTORY COMPUTER GROUP
Venue: Branch Library, Bellerive

Tuesday 15 July - 7:30pm
GENERAL MEETING
Guest Speaker: Nick Brodie
Topic: Except the Lord: Build the House
The History of St Marys Cathedral

Venue: The Sunday School, St Johns Park, New Town

Thursday 17 July - 10:00am
BRANCH COMMITTEE MEETING
Venue: Branch Library, Bellerive

Thursday 24 July - 2:00pm
LIBRARY COMMITTEE MEETING
Venue: Branch Library, Bellerive

Wednesday 13 August - 7:30pm
FAMILY HISTORY COMPUTER GROUP
Venue: Branch Library, Bellerive

Saturday 16 August - 10:30am
TFHS, Inc., EXECUTIVE MEETING
at ROSS

Tuesday 19 August - 7:30pm
GENERAL MEETING
Guest Speaker: Brian Rieusset
Topic: A Story for the Record Books
A missing prisoner record book dating back to 1892, sat on top of a wardrobe for decades, was then kept as a family heirloom, before being handed in and donated as a public possession to the State Archives.

Venue: The Sunday School, St Johns Park, New Town

Thursday 21 August - 10:00am
BRANCH COMMITTEE MEETING
Venue: Branch Library, Bellerive

Thursday 28 August - 2:00pm
LIBRARY COMMITTEE MEETING
Venue: Branch Library, Bellerive

Wednesday 10 September - 7:30pm
FAMILY HISTORY COMPUTER GROUP
Venue: Branch Library, Bellerive

Tuesday 16 September - 7:30pm
GENERAL MEETING
Guest Speaker: Maree Ring
Topic: My Grandfather's Diary
The story behind the diary of a teacher, a New Zealand enlistee in WW1 and a casualty of war.
Venue: The Sunday School, St Johns Park, New Town

Thursday 18 September - 10:00am
BRANCH COMMITTEE MEETING
Venue: Branch Library, Bellerive

Thursday 25 September - 2:00pm
LIBRARY COMMITTEE MEETING
Venue: Branch Library, Bellerive

Wednesday 8 October - 7:30pm
FAMILY HISTORY COMPUTER GROUP
Venue: Branch Library, Bellerive

Thursday 16 October - 10:00am
BRANCH COMMITTEE MEETING
Venue: Branch Library, Bellerive

Tuesday 21 October - 7:30pm
GENERAL MEETING
Guest Speaker: Sally Rackham
Topic: A Photographic History of the Queen's domain ... An App Tour
Sally has been involved with TMAG in the development of a phone/tablet app enabling users to take themselves on an interactive guided tour of Hobart's Queen's Domain.
Venue: "The Sunday School", St Johns Park, New Town

Thursday 23 October - 2:00pm
LIBRARY COMMITTEE MEETING
Venue: Branch Library, Bellerive

Wednesday 12 November - 7:30pm
FAMILY HISTORY COMPUTER GROUP
Venue: Branch Library, Bellerive

Saturday 15 November - 10:30am
TFHS, Inc., EXECUTIVE MEETING
at
ROSS

Tuesday 18 November - 7:30pm
GENERAL MEETING
Guest Speaker: Andrea Gerrard
Topic: Lost on the Somme, 1916
While Australia lost over 8,000 men at Gallipoli, our greatest losses would occur on the Western Front beginning with the Fromelles and followed shortly after by the battle at Pozieres and then at Mouquet Farm just a short distance away.  Tasmania's 12th Battalion were in action at both Pozieres and Mouquet Farm and suffered heavy casualties.
Venue: "The Sunday School", St Johns Park, New Town

Thursday 20 November - 10:00am
BRANCH COMMITTEE MEETING
Venue: Branch Library, Bellerive

Thursday 27 November - 2:00pm
LIBRARY COMMITTEE MEETING
Venue: Branch Library, Bellerive

Wednesday 10 December - 7:30pm
FAMILY HISTORY COMPUTER GROUP
Venue: TBA

Saturday 13 December
BRANCH LIBRARY CLOSES
(Reopens 20 January 2015)

Thursday 18 December - 10:00am
BRANCH COMMITTEE MEETING
Venue: Branch Library, Bellerive

Back to "Meetings" Page

Home | Contact Us | Library | Resources | Research | Meetings | Sales | Membership | Links | Headstones | TFHS

  ©TFHS Inc. All rights reserved.
Last updated 28 August 2014