Logo

 

Tasmanian Family History Society Inc.

Hobart Branch   

Navigation Bar

General and Other Meetings in 2016

All welcome!

Tuesday 19 January - 12:30pm
Branch Library Opens

Thursday 21 January - 10:00am
BRANCH COMMITTEE MEETING

(If needed!)
Venue: Branch Library, Bellerive

Thursday 28 January - 2:00pm
LIBRARY COMMITTEE MEETING

Venue: Branch Library, Bellerive

Wednesday 10 February - 7:30pm
FAMILY HISTORY COMPUTER GROUP

Venue: Branch Library, Bellerive

Tuesday 16 February - 7:30pm
GENERAL MEETING
Guest Speaker: Dr Briony Patterson
Topic:
Using genealogy to trace genetic conditions.
Venue: The Sunday School, St Johns Park, New Town


Thursday 18 February - 10:00am
BRANCH COMMITTEE MEETING
Venue: Branch Library, Bellerive

Saturday 20 February - 10:30am
TFHS, Inc., EXECUTIVE MEETING
at ROSS

Thursday 25 February - 2:00pm
LIBRARY COMMITTEE MEETING
Venue: Branch Library, Bellerive

Wednesday 9 March - 7:30pm
FAMILY HISTORY COMPUTER GROUP
Venue: Branch Library, Bellerive

Tuesday 15 March - 7:30pm
GENERAL MEETING
Guest Speaker: Rosie Severs
Topic:
Robert Brown ... nature's investigator
Venue: The Sunday School, St Johns Park, New Town

Thursday 17 March - 10:00am
BRANCH COMMITTEE MEETING
Venue: Branch Library, Bellerive

Thursday 24 March - 2:00pm
LIBRARY COMMITTEE MEETING
Venue: Branch Library, Bellerive

Wednesday 13 April - 7:30pm
FAMILY HISTORY COMPUTER GROUP
Venue: Branch Library, Bellerive

Tuesday 19 April - 7:30pm
ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING
Election of Officers and Committee.
Nominations open 1st March, close 31st March.
Nomination forms may be obtained from the Secretary.
Guest Speaker: John Wadsley
Topic: War memorials and memorial avenues of the Great War

Venue: The Sunday School, St Johns Park, New Town

Thursday 21 April - 10:00am
BRANCH COMMITTEE MEETING
Venue: Branch Library, Bellerive

Thursday 28 April - 2:00pm
LIBRARY COMMITTEE MEETING
Venue: Branch Library, Bellerive

Wednesday 11 May - 7:30pm
FAMILY HISTORY COMPUTER GROUP
Venue: Branch Library, Bellerive

Tuesday 17 May - 7:30pm
GENERAL MEETING
Guest Speaker: Alan Townsend
Topic:
What colonial wallpaper tells us about luxury and wealth
Venue: The Sunday School, St Johns Park, New Town

Thursday 19 May - 10:00am
BRANCH COMMITTEE MEETING
Venue: Branch Library, Bellerive

Saturday 21 May - 10:30am
TFHS, Inc., EXECUTIVE MEETING
at ROSS

Thursday 26 May - 2:00pm
LIBRARY COMMITTEE MEETING
Venue: Branch Library, Bellerive

Wednesday 8 June - 7:30pm
FAMILY HISTORY COMPUTER GROUP
Venue: Branch Library, Bellerive

Thursday 16 June - 10:00am
BRANCH COMMITTEE MEETING
Venue: Branch Library, Bellerive

Saturday 18 June
* TFHS, Inc., ANNUAL CONFERENCE, including AGM *
MEMBERS and VISITORS WELCOME!
At Ross
See Journal for details.

Tuesday 21 June - 7:30pm
GENERAL MEETING
Guest Speaker: Prof Hamish Maxwell-Stewart
Topic: What's happening with Founders and Survivors and other projects
Venue: The Sunday School, St Johns Park, New Town

Thursday 23 June - 2:00pm
LIBRARY COMMITTEE MEETING
Venue: Branch Library, Bellerive

Wednesday 13 July - 7:30pm
FAMILY HISTORY COMPUTER GROUP
Venue: Branch Library, Bellerive

Tuesday 19 July - 7:30pm
GENERAL MEETING
Guest Speaker: Rex Kerrison
Topic:
The beginnings, and expansion, of the Kerrison
clan in Tasmania and across Australia

Venue: The Sunday School, St Johns Park, New Town

Thursday 21 July - 10:00am
BRANCH COMMITTEE MEETING
Venue: Branch Library, Bellerive

Thursday 28 July - 2:00pm
LIBRARY COMMITTEE MEETING
Venue: Branch Library, Bellerive

Wednesday 10 August - 7:30pm
FAMILY HISTORY COMPUTER GROUP
Venue: Branch Library, Bellerive

Tuesday 16 August - 7:30pm
GENERAL MEETING
Guest Speaker: Scott Clennett
Topic: Gallipoli from Three Perspectives
Scott says, "This talk grew out of our trip to Gallipoli for the centenary commemorations in April last year, and looks at the Gallipoli story from three intertwined perspectives: that of the Campaign itself, of the experiences of my father, and to a lesser extent of an uncle (they were both originals), and of our experiences while there."
Venue: The Sunday School, St Johns Park, New Town

Thursday 18 August - 10:00am
BRANCH COMMITTEE MEETING
Venue: Branch Library, Bellerive

Saturday 20 August - 10:30am
TFHS, Inc., EXECUTIVE MEETING
at ROSS

Thursday 25 August - 2:00pm
LIBRARY COMMITTEE MEETING
Venue: Branch Library, Bellerive

Wednesday 14 September - 7:30pm
FAMILY HISTORY COMPUTER GROUP
Venue: Branch Library, Bellerive

Tuesday 20 September - 7:30pm
GENERAL MEETING
Guest Speaker: Sally Wise
Topic: Cooking the Colonial Way
Content will be about how, and indeed if, they cooked very differently to how we do today.  We will talk about the types of ingredients used here in Tasmania, challenges they faced and overcame and how Van Diemen's Land came to essentially have its own food culture.
Venue: The Sunday School, St Johns Park, New Town

Thursday 15 September - 10:00am
BRANCH COMMITTEE MEETING
Venue: Branch Library, Bellerive

Thursday 22 September - 2:00pm
LIBRARY COMMITTEE MEETING
Venue: Branch Library, Bellerive

Wednesday 12 October - 7:30pm
FAMILY HISTORY COMPUTER GROUP
Venue: Branch Library, Bellerive

Tuesday 18 October - 7:30pm
GENERAL MEETING
Guest Speaker: Dan Griffin
Topic:
A geographic single surname case study
A case study of single surname research in selected early North Carolina USA counties. Examples from research sources, most online and free, will  be shown along with an insight into early USA meets-and-bounds deeds,  deed books and early maps. While USA based and therefore relevant to  those with ancestors traced to the USA, the discussion will also perhaps  have research tips relevant to all genealogical research.
Venue: The Sunday School, St Johns Park, New Town

Thursday 20 October - 10:00am
BRANCH COMMITTEE MEETING
Venue: Branch Library, Bellerive

Thursday 27 October - 2:00pm
LIBRARY COMMITTEE MEETING
Venue: Branch Library, Bellerive

Wednesday 9 November - 7:30pm
FAMILY HISTORY COMPUTER GROUP
Venue: Branch Library, Bellerive

Tuesday 15 November - 7:30pm
GENERAL MEETING
Guest Speaker: TBA
Topic:
TBA
Venue: "The Sunday School", St Johns Park, New Town

Thursday 17 November - 10:00am
BRANCH COMMITTEE MEETING
Venue: Branch Library, Bellerive

Saturday 19 November - 10:30am
TFHS, Inc., EXECUTIVE MEETING
at ROSS

Thursday 24 November - 2:00pm
LIBRARY COMMITTEE MEETING
Venue: Branch Library, Bellerive

Wednesday 14 December - 7:30pm
FAMILY HISTORY COMPUTER GROUP
Venue: TBA

Thursday 15 December - 10:00am
BRANCH COMMITTEE MEETING
Venue: Branch Library, Bellerive

Saturday 17 December
BRANCH LIBRARY CLOSES
(Reopens 17 January 2017)

Back to "Meetings" Page

  ©TFHS Inc. All rights reserved.
Last updated 26 June 2016